top of page

Spotlight on: Hollie Childe

What are you currently planning for the degree show?

“My current work is inspired by the natural world and landscapes; in particular I’m creating works which comment on the boundaries between the natural and the man made. I also draw upon ritual and traditions, as I am interested in their place in contemporary society.”

“I’m hoping to create sculptures to be part of an installation which will construct an environment that is confrontational and challenges the viewer’s experiences of the natural world.” How has your practice changed since starting your degree?

“My practice has changed massively since starting my degree. I started out as a painter and I am now an abstract sculptor, I’ve really learnt the importance of venturing out of your comfort zone. I have definitely learnt to let go and experiment with materials without being scared of an experiment failing. I think that’s because I have realised that I learn the most when things go a bit wrong.”

“I have also become much more aware of the contextual issues I want to address through my work; I want it to be meaningful.” What do you find most inspiring for your artwork?

“Currently I am focusing on the natural world but this interest has been informed by my own personal experiences from travelling to different places across the country. I like to explore and find forms, patterns and ideas which inspire me. I have recently been most inspired by some large rock face I saw on the Cornwall coastline which was covered in really intricate salt patterns.”

“I’m also a real daydreamer and I find that I sometimes have the most creative ideas while I’m just day dreaming or just before I go to sleep.”

What is the most indispensable item in your studio?

“An old Only Fools and Horses t-shirt of my Dad’s that I wear in my studio because I always make a mess.”

Which artists do you admire and why?

“So many, but I like the type of works which have deep meaning in them. I also admire a lot of modern sculptors like Barbara Hepworth. There is a work by James Turrell in the Roden crater in America which I really wish I could visit, I like the idea of taking art outside of the gallery.”

What work of art do you wish you owned?

“This is such a difficult question but right now I would have to say it would be a watercolour of ‘Rocks and Ferns’ by Ruskin that I recently saw at Abott hall gallery in Kendal. I just found it so beautiful and you could see Ruskin’s admiration of nature in the painted details which is really powerful when you consider it in combination with Ruskin’s ideas.” When and why did you become interested in art?

“I’ve always been creative, my Gran used to save cereal boxes for me when I was little because I used to make all kinds of things out of them, from houses for my toys to shoes!”

“I think I have just always found that art is the only thing that I can get completely lost in. It’s also been the only thing that can make me feel the most; it can make me happier than anything else but can also make me really angry. I think if doing something can make you feel that passionate it demands your attention.” Do you remember the first piece of art you made that you felt proud of?


“I’m never really proud of the work I make which used to really trouble me. However, I am beginning to realise that it might not be a bad thing because it keeps me motivated to experiment and try new things rather than staying in my comfort zone and I think that is a really important part of being an artist.” Where do you see yourself in ten years?

“I’m not sure what I will be doing as a career, I don’t think you can over plan. However I feel confident that the skills I have learnt from studying art will be useful to whatever I do because being creative gives you an interesting perspective on even the most mundane things…like rocks.”

Find out more about Hollie's artwork at her website:

http://holliechilde.wix.com/artblogger

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
bottom of page